Black Friday 2017 Prog And Classic Rock Vinyl Record Release Guide

Yes, Rush, Paul McCartney, Greg Lake, Todd Rundgren’s Utopia, Tommy Bolin, Neil Young, Queen, Roger Taylor, Blue Oyster Cult, Cheap Trick, The Byrds, The Turtles, Toto, Umphrey’s McGee and Janis Joplin are all releasing vinyl records on Black Friday, detailed below. Other rock vinyl releases out November 24, 2017 include:

The full list of Black Friday record releases is here. Click these links for live records, jazzhip-hop and metal guides. Below is a round-up of the prog and classic rock vinyl out Black Friday. Follow twitter/TheFutureHeart and facebook/TheFutureHeart for updates.

Yes – Topographic Drama:

Live Across America

  • Triple LP (and double CD)
  • Recorded live in February 2017 with the band’s current line-up: Steve Howe (guitars), Alan White (drums), Geoff Downes (keyboards), Billy Sherwood (bass), Jon Davison (vocals) and Jay Schellen (additional drummer for this tour)
  • Documents Yes’ recent tour (which features sides one and four of 1973’s Tales From Topographic Oceans and the entirety of 1980’s Drama)
  • Includes new cover art by Yes’ longtime collaborator Roger Dean

Rush – “Closer To The Heart”

Utopia – A Different P.O.V.

  • 12″ Sky Blue Vinyl on Real Gone Records
  • 1200 copy pressing ‘RSD First’ Release
  • Three unreleased Utopia demos from 1985 recorded for Utopia’s POV album
  • Liner notes by Paul Myers (author of “A Wizard, a True Star: Todd Rundgren in the Studio”) with quotes from Rundgren, Sulton, and Wilcox
  • Official press release and tracklist here

Blue Oyster Cult – Rarities Vol. 1 (1969-1976)

  • Double LP on pearl white colored vinyl from Real Gone Records
  • Limited edition of 750 RSD Limited Run (1000  worldwide)
  • 17 Blue Oyster Cult rarities never before released on LP: demos, live tracks, album outtakes and non-LP single sides
  • Gatefold cover featuring photos from the Sony Music Archive and notes by Scott Schinder with exclusive quotes from BÖC founding members Buck Dharma and Eric Bloom
  • More information and full tracklist here

Greg Lake
– “I Believe In Father Christmas”

  • 10″ Vinyl on BMG Rights Management (UK) Ltd.
  • Limited edition of 2000 RSD Exclusive Release (3000 copies pressed worldwide)
  • The original 1975 global holiday standard backed with a rare out-of-print 2002 version
  • Cover art replicates the original 1975 release

Umphrey’s McGee
– “The Silent Type”


  • 12″ Custom Die-cut Picture Disc on MRI
  • Limited edition of 1000 RSD Limited Run
  • Custom die-cut record, designed exclusively for Record Store Day Black Friday to look like it’s sawing through your turntable
  • Two new tracks: “The Silent Type” backed with “Looks”
  • Both songs will appear on new 20 year anniversary album, it’s not us, out January 2018

Tommy Bolin – Energy

Cheap Trick – Christmas Christmas


– “We Are The Champions”/
“We Will Rock You”

  • 12″ Single on 180 gram vinyl on Hollywood Records
  • Limited edition 7500
  • Features “We Are The Champions” and “We Will Rock You” to mark 40th anniversary of News of the World
  • Created exclusively for RSD Black Friday 2017
  • Exclusive cover
  • Tracks remastered by Bob Ludwig in 2011
  • Pure Analogue ‘AAA’ cut by Sean Magee at Abbey Road Studios

Roger Taylor – Journey’s End

  • 10″ EP on Sunset Gold Vinyl from Omnivore Records
  • 2400 copy pressing ‘RSD First’ Release
  • Two new tracks and two previously unissued tracks
  • Will also be available to buy one week later on Roger’s online store on Queen’s site

Toto – “Hold The Line”

  • 10″ picture disc on Legacy Records
  • Limited edition of 3000 RSD Exclusive Release
  • Special picture disc to mark the 40th anniversary of Toto
  • Side A is “Hold The Line” with artwork from the group’s self-titled debut
  • Side B is a brand new song “Alone” with a preview of the cover art for 40 Trips Around The Sun, a career-spanning Toto greatest hits album to be released February 2018

Paul McCartney/Holidays Rule
– “Wonderful Christmastime”


  • Two separate Red and Green 7″ Vinyl Singles on Capitol Records
  • Limited edition 3500 (each)
  • “Wonderful Christmastime” performed by Paul, Jimmy Fallon and The Roots on red vinyl is backed with a live performance by Norah Jones of “Peace”
  • “Wonderful Christmastime” performed by Paul, Jimmy Fallon and The Roots on green vinyl is backed with “Jesus Christ” by The Decemberists

Neil Young – Harvest Moon

  • Double LP on Warner Bros.
  • 5000 copy pressing ‘RSD First’ Release
  • First-ever North American vinyl pressing of Harvest Moon
  • 25th Anniversary Edition newly remastered
  • Case-wrapped gatefold jacket
  • Full tracklist here

The Byrds – “You Movin'”

  • 7″ Vinyl Single on Sundazed Music
  • Limited edition 1500 RSD Exclusive Release
  • Gene Clark-penned single “You Movin'” backed with “Boston”
  • Limited edition colored vinyl with picture sleeve

Various Artists – Early LA

  • LP on Sierra High Fidelity
  • Limited edition of 1500 numbered copies RSD Exclusive Release
  • Audiophile 180g vinyl pressing based on the 1969 Together Records album of the same name
  • Includes additional bonus tracks never before released on vinyl
  • Utilizing Sierra Records’ 1984 original half-speed master, processed by the late Richard “Slim” Doss at the legendary Sheffield Lab Matrix
    Produced by Jim Dickson
  • Packaged in a silver foil album jacket
  • Includes tracks by The Byrds, David Crosby, the L.A Wrecking Crew with Leon Russell and Glen Campbell, Dino Valenti, The Dillards and more
  • Full tracklist here

The Turtles – Turtles ’66

  • LP on Manifesto Records
  • Limited edition of 1000 RSD Limited Run
  • The “lost” Turtles album featuring all the original 1966 mono mixes
  • 12 songs, 3 of which were released as singles: “Grim Reaper Of Love,” “Outside Chance” and “Can I Get To Know You Better”
  • The remaining nine have never been released before in mono

Janis Joplin’s Greatest Hits


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s